St. Louis and Southeastern Milepost: 4
South of County Road 975 North and the railroad
Estimated GPS Coordinates, Click For Map: 38.04928366,-88.52390612
According to Ralph Harrelson's book on Hoodville, on April 5, 1870, the St. Louis and Southeastern Railroad obtained a section of land through John and Anderson Hood's land. The depot was built south of present day County Round 975 North and west of the railroad in 1872. At some point, the depot was gone but it remained a flag station. Mr. Harrelson states that he had had the experience of 'caughting the train' in Hoodville. Mrs. William Faulkner shared with Ralph that the depot had porches on the east and west sides and two rooms.
The train derailed in February 1876 and then again in the late 1960's at the Ten Mile Creek Trestle north of Hoodville.
Hoodville, Illinois, By Ralph S. Harrelson, 1975.